Harpist Anne Denholm shows what this amazing instrument is capable of, with a quartet of contrasting pieces, exploring the theme of contemplation. Anne is one of Britain’s leading young harpists, and in July 2015 was appointed Official Harpist to HRH The Prince of Wales, the fifth artist to hold this position since its reinstatement in 2000.

Virtuoso French harpist and teacher, Henriette Renié’s Contemplation, is followed by Marie-Claire Jamet’s transcription of a Bach lute suite before we hear a new work by the young British composer, conductor and Royal Academy student, William Cole. The concert ends with music by another French harpist, Bernard Andrés’s Lament on the Death of a Shepherd.

Renié Contemplation
JS Bach trans. Jamet Suite No. 1 for Lute
William Cole Her Face is Full of Woe (world premiere)
Bernard Andrès Elegie pour la Mort d’un Berger

This concert lasts 30 minutes and tickets are £3. Admission is FREE to those attending the Philharmoniaconcert earlier in the evening.




No comments

You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>